New Project~ 52 Weeks of Cookies

9 01 2010

While I was home for Winter Break, we discovered there’s a sweet-tooth in the house!  Well…we always knew there was at least one!  Bruce is a midnight muncher of sweet things.  Both of us are seeing the incredibly high price of commercial candies all of a sudden…oh, that’s right…high fructose corn syrup.  That, and the fact that most candy contains absolutely NO nutrition…and it motivates 1 cook-happy wife to bake again.  It must be time to think about cookies.  I made one batch over vacation…one that I searched high and low for…and they vanished so quickly that we decided that it might just be fun to do a different batch of cookies every week for a year.  Now…I expect this may get totally shoved aside during the summer.  We’ll have to see how things work out.   But for now…while it’s wet, and dreary, nothin’ says lovin’ like somethin’ from the oven!!

Our first cookie of the year comes from our friend Janice in Texas…Snickerdoodles!!  I love snickerdoodles.  I have a couple recipes, so they will be repeated for comparison.  These came out wonderfully…and I made them probably bigger than they should have been, but I used my cookie scoop, which is pretty standard for me.   I don’t have her permission to publish her recipe yet, but I can tell you it’s close to the standard that’s out there.  Most of the on-line recipes are the same with a slight variation here or there.

Tasting Notes:
These were voted easy eaters by my foodie co-hort.  He’d like to see what would mix in with them.  Hmmm…  Variations on a Snicker-Doodle…  Reminds me of a book of poetry I once had… Reflections on a Gift of Watermelon Pickle…  Truly, these were soft, full of flavor, and really easy to eat.  They didn’t make it a week.  With recipes like these, I won’t have to worry about the summer months.

Actions

Information

One response

10 01 2010
Arlene

A cookie a week; ambitious and fun. I look forward to more goodies.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

