When the going gets tough…the tough get cooking!

8 06 2008

It’s been a rugged school year.  I’m not going to go through all the aspects of that. Instead, I’ll tell you about what I’ve been doing in the kitchen while I’ve been stressing.

I entered a food blog event, Tasty Tools, with the Poblano Cream from the chicken recipe, using it instead on pork loin chops.  No surprise…major yum.  Once again, I had sauce remaining…(awwwww…), so I tried shrimp in the sauce.  Yep. KILLER!  And then…with a tiny bit of sauce (maybe 1/3 cup) left, I tried stirring it into creamy scrambled eggs.  Right up there with all the other fabulous choices!  That’s one incredibly tasty and versatile sauce.  I’d enter it in any competition it fit the criteria for.

We also played with pork loin chops.  I cut them 3/4 inch thick, pounded them with my tenderizer, sprinkled them with the rub for pan-smoked salmon, and left them for several hours.  They were heavily seasoned…maybe 30-60 minutes would have been plenty, but I fell asleep.  Sorry about that.  Still, they came out  very well.  We pan-smoked them over very low heat for 25 minutes, and let them cool, then we finished them on a hot grill pan.  Mmmm!  I fixed 4; we ate all 4 in one sitting.  Oops.

Then, I had a yen for Thai (no pun intended).  I made green papaya salad, tom kha gai soup, and simmered boneless chicken thighs in green curry from Trader Joe’s.  No complaints on this one either.  We polished off the soup and the chicken in one sitting.  So much for leftovers.

Right now I’m in the middle of baby back ribs and marinated pasta salad.  The salad is pretty…fusilli pasta, kalamata olives, red and green bell pepper, garlic, herbs and shallots with marinated artichoke hearts.  Let me see if I can get a picture…

Marinated Pasta Salad

There we are.  Pasta and veggies in an olive oil marinade.  Yes, it’s yummy.  And it was easy.  And with closing another school year, I need easy.  Simple.  Relaxing.  Ribs and salad…works for me.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

