Zucchini, zucchini…

27 07 2008

I know, I know…what does zucchini have to do with this incredibly moist chocolate cake? Other than being the main ingredient, not much. No, I’m not kidding, and no it doesn’t taste like zucchini.

The first time I had an actual “crop” of zucchini, I began to understand why my co-workers have always had “extra” for me. LOL! Oh my, yes! As I was trying to find a variety of things to do with my bounty, a friend offered me a recipe for a Chocolate Zucchini Cake. The only problem is that it doesn’t use up quite enough zucchini, but it’s a fabulous cake. And it’s perfectly easy to make. You need two bowls…it’s not even worth breaking out the mixer. It stirs up quite easily by hand. Yes, you can use it as a ruse to get summer squash into reluctant youngsters. I have. It worked. You’ve waited long enough? Okay…

Chocolate Zucchini Cake

1/2 cup softened butter or margarine
1/2 cup oil
1-3/4 cup sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup buttermilk
2 cups finely grated zucchini
1 tsp. baking soda
2-1/2 cup flour
4 – 6 Tbsp. cocoa powder
1/2 tsp. cinnamon (opt.)
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking powder

Mix ingredients in order given, down to zucchini; set aside.
Sift dry ingredients together.
Add dry ingredients to egg mixture alternately with buttermilk.
Stir in zucchini by hand.

Pour into greased 9 x 13 pan.

Topping:

3/4 cup chocolate chips
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 cup walnuts, chopped

Mix together and sprinkle on top of cake batter.

Bake at 350º 40 to 45 minutes, or until done.

I’ve since found another recipe for a chocolate zucchini cake. Watch for a repeat performance with the 2nd recipe. It has a few slightly different ingredients, so it would taste quite a bit differently. No problem. Hubster “hates” trying new recipes! LOL!

Actions

Information

One response

28 07 2008
sara

Mmm, I have zucchini in my veggie box, which I pick up tomorrow. Ryan has a particularly hard day, so perhaps I can make this for him!

Leave a Reply

