Onion Soup

13 08 2008

I wonder why it works out that we’re doing soups in the heat of summer…it’s 103º outside. Ish. Fortunately, I did my soup over the weekend when it wasn’t quite so hot!!

We love French Onion soup. I make it fairly often. I was very pleased to see the recipe was almost exactly the way I make my soup already. The only exception was the roux. I don’t usually thicken my onion soup. And we prefer the richness that beef broth adds rather than chicken stock or water. I guess that’s getting pretty different now…well…thickener and different liquid…. I thought the amount of wine was kind of much, until I realized that I use that much sherry for my soup…

And so…we suffered through the enticing aromas of sweating onions…seemingly forever. I cooked them very low and slow while I was doing other things to get supper ready all at the same time. My salmon smoked gently while the onions were getting limp and golden. I cut a sourdough roll into slices and toasted the slices just until they were crusty, but not brown to top the soup with when the time came, and since I had sliced swiss cheese, we used that. Darn…it overlapped a wee bit and anchored the cheesy bread raft in the center of our little soup pond…swimming with tender onion strands.

Mmmm…oops. I guess I got a little anxious. I totally neglected to photograph this soup session. I sliced the onions on my mandoline. It made short work of the onion halves, and seemed to help avoid onion-tears. That was a good thing…onions get me BAD! Here’s a shot of hubby’s soup…patient man that he is. All he did was add pepper, but he always does that.

Doesn’t that look yummy? The cheese was perfectly gooey! The soup came out of the broiler just as it was time to plate our pan smoked salmon and sautéed zucchini. That’s why I was so anxious…I just couldn’t wait to dip my spoon in. Mmmm….

Now…since it’s 103º outside, I think it’s time to do the consommé!

Actions

Information

9 responses

19 09 2008
Kayte

Will you make this again and invite me over? It looks so good the way you have it plated all up with that melty goodness spilling all over…OMW, you are a onion soup goddess…my favorite thing in the whole world is French Onion Soup…yours looks very very good. Please…can I come over, please???

22 08 2008
Michelle

Hey…your onion soup looks like mine…delicious!

21 08 2008
Teanna

That looks absolutely gorgeous! From your description, I wanted to come on over and join the meal!

15 08 2008
Shari@Whisk: a food blog

I hope it’s cooled off a bit there! BTW, I’ve given you an award.
Check it out!
Shari@Whisk: a food blog

14 08 2008
sara

MMM, outstanding!! Salmon with this would be heavenly, great idea!! 103 degrees? Woooo, that is way too toasty for me. I can practically smell the cheese, great post!!

14 08 2008
Jessica

Looks delicious! Sounds like you had a winner pairing it with salmon, too.

13 08 2008
Shari@Whisk: a food blog

Your hubby’s very patient to let you photograph just before eating! That looks so delicious and cheesy!! I’m getting tired of making soups, frankly, and can’t wait to move onto the next class!

13 08 2008
Shelley

Omigosh, your soup looks adorable and delicious! I also think that the description of the toasty raft in the soup pond was cute — were you thinking of going swimming to get out of that 103 degree heat, by any chance?

I’d like to make this soup again with beef broth. It was pretty good just with the water, but I think the stock would make it even better.

But I will DEFINITELY ask for a taste test of the Gruyere before I buy one again! I never want to get stuck with another expensive piece of cheese that’s that darned salty! Poo!

13 08 2008
Natashya

Your soup looks wonderful. I think a cheese toast raft in an onion soup sounds great!

Leave a Reply

