Cranberry-Orange Bliss

22 12 2008

So…I’m quietly surfing blogs, trying to catch up while I’m on a 2 week break from school…and I run across these incredible cookies on one website, and chase it back to the original post. OMGosh these are good.  I’ll figure out the problem with the consistency sooner or later.  The flavor is worth the work!  And when I figure it out, I’ll share. The recipe…the cookies are very difficult to share.

orange-cran-cookies

Fresh Cranberry Orange Cookies

Ingredients:
1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 c. unsalted butter, softened
1/4 c. brown sugar, packed
1 c. granulated sugar
1 egg yolk
1 tsp grated orange zest
juice of 1/2 orange
1 tsp vanilla
1 c. chopped fresh cranberries (I used a food processor and pulsed about 8-10 times)

Directions:
-Preheat oven to 375 degrees and line two baking sheets with parchment.
-In medium bowl combine flour, baking soda, salt, and whisk; set aside.
-In bowl of stand mixer, combine butter and sugars and beat until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes.
-Add yolk and beat until fully incorporated.
-Add orange juice, then zest and vanilla and beat until fully incorporated.
-Turn mixer to low speed, add flour mixture and beat until just incorporated.
-Remove bowl from mixer, stir in cranberries, and place 1 Tbsp rounds of dough onto cookie sheets.
-Place cookies in the oven and bake, switching baking sheet positions half way through baking time,  for 12-14 minutes (they should not brown)
-Remove from oven and let cool on pans completely, about 10-15 minutes.

Makes about 18 very generous Tbsp-sized cookies
** I got 40 Tbsp sized cookies, but then, mine flopped.

http://goodthingscatered.blogspot.com/2008/12/cranberry-orange-cookies.html

I’m not sure what went wrong. My cookies look so adorable on the parchment, but they flattened like unleavened bread.  What did I do differently…?  I used frozen fresh cranberries…might have added additional moisture?  I chopped them frozen, and mixed them with the OJ…  Now, oranges are subjective.  What kind of orange are you juicing?  A small blood orange?  Or a big CA grown Valencia?  I used a valencia…lots and lots of juice.  And then…I used baking powder instead of baking soda. I don’t think that would make that much difference.  I think it’s more along the lines of the moisture from the fruits.  Next time I’ll add an extra 1/4 cup of flour and test it, then add another 1/4 cup as needed to get a stand-up cookie!

***Post edited 12/26/08

Ok, we know what the problem was now.  1/2 CUP of butter does NOT equal 1/2  POUND.  No wonder those cookies were so rich and yummy! LOL!  That was problem #1; 2nd – soda was the ingredient, I used baking powder.  Total brain fade there.  #3 – Half an orange can be a little or a LOT of juice.  I think 2 Tbsp. is a better call on the quantity there.  My oranges yielded a full 4 oz. of juice.  That made for a big difference in how the cookies behave.  When I used 2 Tbsp. of juice with the soda and 1/2 cup of butter, we had lovely cookies!

Congratulations. You have witnessed a full flop on my part.  If you tell, I’ll have to hunt you down and feed you cookies ’til you pop!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

