WW~Rewind to Classes 10 and 12- Stock and Hollandaise

22 12 2008

I joined Whisk Wednesdays just about the time they were finishing stocks and since it was July, I didn’t worry about trying to catch up right then.  I knew the long foggy, and rainy days of winter would be back soon enough.  Sure enough…they’re here. When I woke up yesterday, I knew it was a perfect day for roasting bones and making brown stock.  Veal bones still elude me, and I’ll be special ordering some for making stock for the duckling we’ll be cooking the first week of January.  This was a good time to work on a basic brown stock, before investing a small fortune in veal bones.  I picked up 3 packages of beefy bones from the frozen meat counter (the only way…sadly…to acquire bones), one was particularly “knuckly,” lots of good cartilage and natural gelatin.  I roasted them at 475º initially, but really felt it was too hot, and reduced the heat to 425º.  After about 90 minutes, we had lovely golden brown bones, and lots of fat had cooked off.  I popped the sizzling bones into a kettle of cold water, added 2 onions, 3 small carrots, tomato paste and a bouquet garni to the kettle.  I brought it to a boil, reduced the heat to a low simmer and left it alone for several hours.  I probably left it too long, but a carrot was still al dente when I took it off the heat.  I skimmed a lot of fat off and did a pretty good job, there wasn’t all that much left to take off when it was cooled.  Now we have a few quarts of lovely brown broth to freeze.beef-stock2

*Tip* When only using a small amount of tomato paste from a container, measure 1 tablespoon sized dollops onto a foil lined container.  Freeze and pop into a zip-lock bag to save.

I’ve made hollandaise from scratch according to Joy of Cooking in the past, and I’ve made blender hollandaise, and I’ve made instant (blech) hollandaise.   I hadn’t made hollandaise according to Le Cordon Bleu hefore.  This one had me going just a little bit.  Tempering the eggs made me incredibly nervous…and I don’t know if I did it right or not, but I got a lovely bright yellow (sorry, my chickens have really YELLOW, almost orange yolks) sauce in the end.  I got kind of tired and went to work on too much butter at one time, but adding the lemon juice brought it back together just fine, and adding warm water a bit at a time as well as beating the sauce over the hot water of the poaching egg did great to bring it to a happy finish for plating.  Unfortunately, you have to take my word for it this time.  I forgot to take pictures.  This time.  There’s a good chance we’ll have poached eggs (I’m starting to get the hang of that one!!) again sometime soon. With hollandaise.

Actions

Information

One response

8 01 2009
Shari

I’d love to see that almost orange hollandaise from your amazing chickens!

Leave a Reply

