Prime Rib 2008 and other musings

26 12 2008

I think I’m still in search of a prime rib recipe I can trust.

This year, we were fortunate in finding a 3-rib standing rib roast that we could afford!  I knew we’d have a lot left over, but we’d also have extra if anyone happened to be with us.  The roast was 6-1/2 pounds, well marbled, and looked plenty managable.  Next…search for a Prime Rib cooking recipe.

cmasdinner081

The recipe we settled on said to pull the roast out for 30 minutes before cooking to permit it to come to room temperature.  After 2 hours, our roast still hadn’t achieved room temperature.   The recipe called for seasoning the roast with a rub and 1/2 cup of dijon mustard.  Keeper!  Oh my gosh that was a tasty crust!  Cooking…heat the oven to 500º – check;  seasoned & rubbed beef – check;  put in oven, fat side up for 5 minutes per pound (33 minutes) – check; turn oven off, let rest 90 minutes –  check;  remove from oven, roast should be about 140º internally – oops.  The roast registered 80º  Totally undaunted, I quartered some red potatoes, fired off the oven and set it at 425º, added the potatoes to my roast and waited…45 minutes later, the potatoes were nicely browned, and I determined we were DONE cooking!  No, I didn’t temp the roast.  I pulled it out, wrapped it lovingly with foil and proceeded to make Yorkshire Pudding.  When the puddings were done, I carved the roast.  Sure enough…it was a beautiful medium rare in the center, not overly rare at all.  Although the recipe didn’t work precisely for me, it’s close.  I found another recipe that recommends cooking at 400º…we may try that one next year, because 500º made for really smokey conditions in the house!   Incidentally…we liked the Yorkshire puddings!

yorkshirepudding

Yorkshire Pudding

1 cup flour
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup milk
2 eggs

Whisk dry ingredients together in a bowl; whisk wet ingredients together in a mixing pitcher (4 cup measure will hold it all), whisk together until smooth.  Prepare a 12 cup muffin tin with 1 tsp. pan drippings per muffin cup, heat at 425ºF until hot.  Pour batter into cups to fill halfway.  Bake at 425º about 20-25 minutes until puffed and brown.   Serve with gravy or au jus.

I looked at a LOT of recipes before I decided on the quantity of ingredients.  These were the most common, relatively.  One thing I noticed was that the batter sizzled as I poured it into the hot tins…ooooh!  Drum roll for the drama!

Now…if you have suggestions for recipes that utilize leftover prime rib, please…SHARE!  *Ü*

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

