Jousting~Red, White and Green

26 04 2009

I really enjoy the various interpretive events among the food blogs.  I’ve tried, and tried to participate in Paper Chef, but one thing or another has prevented me from that.  I’ve participated in a few other little events here and there, but have really come to enjoy the challenge of the Foodie Jousts sponsored by the Leftover Queen.

The Joust for May calls for, not three particular ingredients, but 3 colors!  Way to go Peter and Christey!  This couple runs www.Fotocuisine.com.  They were voted Best Overall Entry in April’s food joust for their interpretation of the ingredients almonds, lemongrass and asparagus.  I have to admit…I voted for their dish too.

So…the challenge this month is to utilize red, green and white in our presentation.  Interesting…  Hmmm…  The first thing that came to mind for me was Salad Caprese.  Bright green basil…white cheese, and red tomatoes…so why not?

may_09a

The recipe is ever so simple…a nice sturdy whole grain bread, sliced fresh mozzarella, buffalo milk mozzarella is particularly yummy if you can get it…a whispy slice of proscuitto, topped by a generous slice of vine-ripened tomato  and pop it under the broiler just long enough to melt the cheese and toast the edges of the prosciutto.  Add a sprinkling of extra virgin olive oil, and a chiffonade of fresh basil and just try to resist.  Good luck with that.  *Ü*

Actions

Information

4 responses

2 05 2009
petermarcus

I love a salad caprese — so simple, and so elegant. Mmmmm!

29 04 2009
Jenn AKA The Leftover Queen

This looks so good – my husband loves it, as he can’t get enough Caprese! I am so glad to see in the Joust again! It is great to have you!

28 04 2009
Angela@spinachtiger

I love caprese anything. I’m getting ready to enter this joust, but can’t decide WHAT yet. So many fun ideas swimming in my head.

26 04 2009
Natashya

The perfect warm weather snack!
I do love a caprese salad – great idea to make it into a sammie!

Leave a Reply

