TFF ~ French Onion Soup

21 05 2009

This has been a busy month!  Somewhere along the line, I ended up just needing soup.  You know how that is?  I knew I had a big bag of onions that needed to be used, and I actually had gruyere in the fridge and french bread in the freezer.  Oh yes…that works!!  And what the heck…if I’m going to make French Onion soup from scratch, why not check and see what Tyler might have up his sleeve?  That way I’ve researched a new Tyler Florence recipe, and done the background for my Tyler Florence Fridays post!  What a great plan!!

Tyler’s recipe called for the onions to be sweated down with a fair amount of butter, and cooked, and cooked, and cooked until they carmelized.  Either I did something really wrong, or this didn’t work out the way I like it to.   I think this is one of the places where a high-BTU commercial range is what makes the difference.  There’s no way those onions were anywhere near cooked down, nor carmelized in 25 minutes.  And it took a whole lot longer than 5 minutes to cook the wine off the onions.  I think this starts the reason I ended up with flavor I wasn’t as happy with as I anticipated being.  Translation: The soup was fine.  I expected something “more”, different…I don’t know, just not quite what I got.  I don’t usually use red wine in my French Onion soup either…but I didn’t see that as being a big deal…but maybe the quantity combined with the carmelizing problem.  Don’t get me wrong, please…it was good.  Hubby enjoyed it immensely.  It may have even been my “taster” that night.  I just didn’t enjoy this one as much.  Once the gruyere was on top, I didn’t mind so much…it was a whole lot better!   Gooey, melty cheese can mend a lot of boo-boos!

TFF-FrenchOnion

Editorial comment….  What would I do differently?  I think I’d use a different pan to carmelize the onions, maybe even two, so the onions don’t steam so much.  Sugar content can vary greatly between different varieties, so I often add sugar – not a lot though – just to help get the process underway.   I’ll try the recipe again with a few changes…and see how it goes!

Actions

Information

11 responses

28 05 2009
Shari

I love homemade french onion soup! Yum. Did you make the LCB version earlier this year? How did the two compare? I’d love a commercial range too!!

Leave a Reply

