Whisk Wednesday – Menu 2.1

2 06 2009

Last week we began Menu #2…Salade de Foies de Volailles Tiedes (Salad of Warm Sautéed Chicken Livers), then Longe de Porc aux Pruneaux (Roast Pork Loin with Prunes) and Mousseline de Céleri Rave (Creamed Celery Root Purée), with Savarin aux Kiwis et aux Fraises (Rum Savarin with Kiwis and Strawberries) for dessert.  Again, the idea is to learn to manage your time so that the dishes are all ready to serve in succession.  With Menu #1, I managed to do it all at one time.  This menu didn’t work out as well for me.  It’s a busy time of year at work (school is almost over…),  so my energy levels aren’t as high as they could be.  Sometimes cooking is the last thing I feel like when I get it, and by the time I am ready, there’s not enough time left to prep and cook.  I guess this is my way of saying, “I’m a week behind already, but I’ll get ‘er done!”

This week I’m posting the Salade de Foies de Volailles Tiedes, or Salad of Warm Sautéed Chicken Livers in English.  It sounds much more intriguing in the French.   It’s here that we depart for a moment for True Confession Time.

I cannot abide liver.  That’s it, in a nutshell.  I simply cannot stand it.  And then along came foie gras…  Now, why is it I can’t stand liver, but I can purr over foie gras?  I think it’s kind of like loving sushi as long as it’s fresh…  Does the act of cooking change it so that it becomes something I really despise?  And then there’s the fact that this recipe does call for chicken liver…  I decided to play it safe.    There are two other members of the Clan Giblet…the gizzard and the heart.  They would also have an intense chicken taste and a texture not terribly differnt than that of the livers.  I purchased some of each, livers and gizzards with hearts.  In the spirit of fair play (my sister Whisk Chicks have all tried something new to them in our lessons), I knew I was going to have to make this and taste it.  While it didn’t change my mind about liking liver in the least, if I had no choice but to eat it…I could almost tolerate it as it is in this salad.  But, since chickens only have one liver, you can have it instead of me.  No problem.

Chicken livers are soft and delicate.  They saute quickly.  Chicken hearts and the gizzard (a section of the digestive system of a chicken where the food is ground) are hard-core muscles..  Muscles that work hard are strong, which means it will be tough unless the muscle tissue is broken down with slow, gentle simmering.  I cooked the gizzards and hearts in enough broth to wet all the gizzards, then topped that off with water until all were covered.  I threw in a few cloves of garlic, some other herbs and salt.   After 30 minutes, I uncovered the saucepan and let the cooking liquid reduce.  When the chicken gizzards had simmered about an hour they were tender.   From that point on, I prepared both sauces side by side, giving each dish half of the sauce ingredients.  The sauce on the gizzards came out a little better.  Perhaps it was because the wine had reduced some by the time I got the cream in.  The sauce on the chicken livers came out fine.  It just didn’t blend as smoothly.

ChickenLiverSalad1

We both enjoyed the saland a great deal.  We each had a double serving as an entree salad.  I subbed Spring Greens for the escarole and red lettuce.   The vinaigrette was as wonderful as everyone said!   We used so little, there’s a full 8 oz. jar left…in my fridge!  The warm sauce and chicken pieces wilt the salad greens a little.  The greens have a tanginess that’s very complementary to the sweetness of the port sauce.  Both of us thoroughly enjoyed our salads.  Bruce said he wouldn’t at all mind having this salad again.  Even if I just made it with gizzards instead of livers.  Awww…what a guy!

With any luck, I can get the pork roast with celery root puree and the kiwi-strawberry savarin done by next week at this time.  We’ll see!  Until then, stop by and visit the rest of the “Whisk Chicks…”

Actions

Information

3 responses

7 06 2009
Shari

I’ve never tried gizzards, and I’m not sure I’ll brave that one! Love your description of how to prepare them, though. I love fois gras too! Glad you two enjoyed this salad!

3 06 2009
Kayte

Oh, chicken hearts…I could have done chicken hearts, I love chicken hearts…hard to believe that Miss Fuss, when it comes to eating, likes chicken hearts, but I do. I am going back in on this salad with chicken hearts! Love the post…can’t wait to see what you do with the pork and celery root!

2 06 2009
Michelle

We enjoyed our salads too. I made Joe’s with the chicken livers and mine with chicken breast. I do like beef and calves liver but I do not care for chicken liver at all. And gizzards I’ve never tried. My hat is off to you for trying both!!

Leave a Reply

