Cooking Italy 3 ~ Bisteca Fiorentina

20 07 2009

Bisteca Fiorentina by any other name is Steak Florentine…a T-bone, actually preferably a big ol’ 2 pound porterhouse of the Tuscany region with virtually no seasoning…just a crack of pepper, the grill, a kiss of garlic, olive oil and sea salt and you’re good to go.  It’s the cut of meat in Italy that makes this dish…and the oil.  Here in the states…well…we’ll never see a white cut of beef.  All our beef is red, red, red.  Still, this is a tasty dish nonetheless. And it’s our dish for Cooking Italy this week.

So I want you to picture my lovely pair of 3/4 pound T-bones…grilled to perfection with nothing more than cracked pepper on them…then rubbed with fresh garlic, seasoned with fresh EVOO and sprinkled with olive oil…served with stuffed mini portobella mushrooms…  I don’t know why there’s no picture.  I thought surely there WAS a picture. I still think there IS a picture. I’m just not sure which camera we took it with, so I’m not sure which computer to look on. I’m not finding it on my computer, and I’m very organized! But…Mr. Green Jeans isn’t finding it either. Darn.  They were lovely. And tasty. And I really can’t afford to do them again right now. Darn it. LOL!  Oh well!

Not my picture

If you want to cook with us, dash on over to Spinach Tiger, Cooking Italy and drop Angela a note, then click on her link and pick up a copy of Marcella Hazan’s book and you’re good to go!  There are no hard and fast rules…we just have a good time learning together!  This is a lovely bunch of ladies…I’m sure you’ll fit in fine!  Ciao~

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 07 2009
Kim

Sounds like a great group, Cooking Italy. I wish I had the book because all the recipes sound terrific. I’m excited to see your posts on these recipes.

20 07 2009
Arlene

Simplicity; I can almost taste this beautiful preparation.

20 07 2009
Melissa

Sometimes no photo meant that it was too beautiful for the camera! Sounds great! I know we loved ours!

20 07 2009
Kayte

OMW that is the largest steak I have ever seen. I know it’s not your picture, but it is still the largest steak I have ever seen. I have lost pictures before, too, once I remember taking like 30 and only one surfaced…another blogger offered to lend me one of hers to pad the post…LOL, so I did that as a joke. This was the best steak…cooking, seasoning, everything.

Leave a Reply

