Cooking Italy: Pork Bolognese~

8 10 2009

CI-pork_bolognese

I’m still lagging way behind in my cooking groups, but I’m still cooking! This week, I managed to get the Pork Bolognese accomplished for Cooking Italy.  While it may not be one of the prettier dishes I’ve fixed (I don’t think I was patient enough in the end to get a pretty finishing sauce), it was certainly one of the tastiest.  Hands down. And one of the the more aromatic…perhaps because the simmering is done on the stovetop…  Great recipe selection Angela!!

I chose a Pork Boston Butt (which is actually a neck cut) rather than the loin as it has more fat and would be juicier in the long run.  I’m glad I did.  It cooked beautifully.  The only problem was that it was a 3# roast rather than a 2# roast, so it took a bit longer to cook.  It took every bit of 3 hours…actually closer to 4.  That made it 10 p.m. or slightly later by the time we were able to sit down…and after working 8 hours already…I didn’t have a lot of patience for waiting for the milk to caramelize, and my sauce didn’t work out quite right.  So it isn’t pretty on the plate.  But…it was tasty. Down-RIGHT tasty!  I’d have never thought a little old piece of pork, browned, sprinkled with salt and pepper and cooked on the stove top in milk…MILK of all things…would taste so incredibly complex, but…it did and does!  You have to try it!

CI-pork_bolognese_plated

That was the entire ingredient list…save a bit of butter and oil to start the browning process, especially needed for the pork loin, not as desperate if you use a Boston Butt.  Sliced and sauced, it isn’t much to look at…like I said, by 10 p.m. I’d run out of time, energy and worst of all, patience to finish the dish out properly.  The little milk nuggets are supposed to smooth out into a creamy sauce more like you see in Angela’s (Spinach Tiger’s) dish.  This was purely tasty…I know we’ll try it again.  It will be interesting to see how it turns out the second time around!  I served it over sour cream mashed potatoes and we pretty much purred our way off to full tummy slumber!  Another Marcella Hazan success!

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 10 2009
Kayte

If I remember right, I was about 5 hours and some cooking this and it was worth every single minute! We loved it and then we loved it again as pulled pork bbq sandwiches a few days later. I was amazed with that sauce made from the milk…who knew??? Yours looks wonderful.

9 10 2009
Arlene

I chuckled when I read your comment about the appearance of the pork ragu. I do agree and have the photos of mine to prove it. But, as you’ve noted, it is incredibly delicious, which makes up for a multitude of sins.

9 10 2009
Simone (junglefrog)

Well at least you managed to make the pork already!! lol… I still have to start on it! Love the look of that first photo.. It looks incredibly tasty!

Leave a Reply

