Cooking Italy: White Clam Sauce with Spaghettini~

11 10 2009

Now this is a happy coincidence!  I actually have everything together to be able to have created a dish on time! Don’t worry about this becoming a habit…I’m sure that won’t be the case…but it was certainly a nice achievement!

This week Cooking Italy is preparing Marcella Hazan’s White Clam sauce for spaghettini.  It was perfectly simple and very easy (and quick!) to put together.   I found it just a bit salty, but that could be because I used the rest of the clams that I didn’t use for the paella.  I bought 1-1/2 pounds total…so that really wasn’t all that much.  They were just salty little suckers! *giggle*  Hubby was very interested in this dish. We’ve both seen in on menus, but have been leery of ordering it…especially where we live.  Inland seafood preparations can be very scary.  After a few horror experiences you can get pretty shy about ordering something like clams.

Once again, I was amazed at the amazing amount of flavor in just a few ingredients.  I’m learning to love Italian parsley.  I always knew I loved garlic!  I eventually caught the slight heat from the pepper flakes.  Not much heat, but a tiny bit.  The little bit of basil to finish the dish was just fabulous! I wondered about parmesan, but didn’t see that it was called for, or passed at the table.  I understood why when I tasted it.  There was already enough salt, and the flavor would have overpowered the delicate taste of the sea.

I’m not a big seafood cook, but I can see me preparing this from time to time.  It’s worth the effort for a lovely change of pace!  Another keeper!  Thanks for a great selection Angela!!

Actions

Information

5 responses

20 10 2009
Kayte

This looks beautiful, Glennis. So fresh and clean looking. I am eager to try this one, trying to get caught up, so hopefully soon. Was happy to get to see yours for inspiration.

13 10 2009
Simone (junglefrog)

It looks fabulous!! The only thing is… upon seeing your clams I am starting to think I might have ordered the wrong variety… Hmm, let’s see what I get at the fishmonger when I am picking it up tomorrow. But I love your dish anyway. Looks gorgeous!

12 10 2009
Melissa

Beautiful and perfect! Can’t wait till this lands on our table!

12 10 2009
BMK

Looks fantastic! I hope I can find good fresh clams to make this one!

12 10 2009
Angela@spinachtiger

Hooray for being on time and I can’t wait to go get my clams today.

Leave a Reply

