Cooking Italy is Cooking Red to Remember

1 12 2009

Angela of Spinach Tiger is hostessing a cooking event in honor of World Aids Day. She’s calling it Cooking Red to Remember, and you can read her story here: Cooking Red to Remember.

As far as I know, I haven’t lost anyone to AIDS. As far as I know, I don’t know anyone who’s gone through the horror of this situation, with the exception of Angela. But…I was hanging around hospitals in the late 1980’s for my own reasons. While my mother’s sands of time were running out, there were many opportunities to see a number of young men whose sands were also running out, way too soon as well. The attitudes toward those young men bothered me then, and it still bothers me today. Without regard to anything else, people who are victims of AIDS are first and foremost, people. I was in a healing place, or at the very least, a place of empathy, yet even there, attitudes were sadly present.

So, for all of those who have lost battles to AIDS, and all the victims of AIDS…the patients, the family members, those who accept, and those who still deny…I cooked Red to Remember for you.  Cooking might be a stretch of the literal term, but we certainly have RED on the plate!   We have a melange of marinated vegetables…red peppers, red grape tomatoes, carrot slices, broccoli, green beans, cauliflower, celery and artichoke hearts served with panko crusted Swai fillets, along with a red carnation.  To help us remember. Always.

Thanks Angela…

Actions

Information

4 responses

6 12 2011
Food Bloggers Participate in “Red to Remember” for World AIDS Day — Spinach Tiger

[…] USA Glennis of CANTBELIEVEWEATE: Marinated Vegetables SPINACH TIGER: […]

15 12 2009
Shari

Nice job of working with the red idea. Your plate looks lovely. And a worthy cause to support!

6 12 2009
Angela@spinachtiger

Glennis, my darling girlfriend. You see all along you were affected by AIDS and didn’t realize it. Did I ever tell you how much I love you and that you have a real gift for the way you put words together.
xoxo

2 12 2009
SippitySup

The words you write here and the even more personal thoughts you left for me at SippitySup are so generous and honest. It is very good to step out of our own experiences our own “shoes” and walk for a bit in someone else’s. Angela has given that gift to me and from you write I can see this experience has touched you as well. Thanks GREG

Leave a Reply

