Cooking Italy~Shrimp with Tomatoes and Chili Peppers

11 01 2010

It feels good to be back into my routine…and that routine includes Cooking Italy!  It actually helps me and keeps me disciplined to have a couple of recipes I “need” to cook every week.  It helps me focus my energy and helps me maintain a focus on cooking and eating decently fresh and healthy food.   Chopping vegetables helps relieve the odds and ends of little stress pockets that follow me home.  Cooking in general makes me happy, so quick meals like this are really celebrated at the end of a long work day.

Our cast of characters today are simply shrimp, onions, garlic, parsley, olive oil and chili peppers…or chili pepper flakes if it’s the dead of winter and there are NO fresh red chili peppers available.   I looked all over, but I haven’t been able to find San Marzano tomatoes in my area yet.  So, I used tomatoes I canned last summer.  I drained the liquid off and reserved it, and added little bits as the pan simmered dry while I cooked the sauce.  I also had to use dried parsley…it was either that or nada.  So…we added a little more happy tomato juice. *Ü*  One word of warning….watch it with those dried chili flakes.   I’m so glad I took half of them OUT!

Tasting Notes:
This goes together very quickly and is so full of flavors!  The heat is really there, but settles out quickly afterward.  It’s served with crusty grilled bread to soak up any wayward sauce (and to offset the fire!).  Now…it’s just our secret…but I served this over….shhhh…pasta.  I wanted to make sure we had enough food for supper, but I didn’t want to fix pasta first, then the shrimp…so I “cheated” on the true Italian fare.   Please forgive me…  I couldn’t help myself.  It really helped offset the spiciness though! Want a bite?

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 01 2010
Kelly Devine aka FattyBelly

I’m picking my husband up from the airport tomorrow and planned to make the Ossobusco, but I’m striking out on finding the right veal, so I think I will be making this instead. I love reading your post’s.
You make me laugh!

Happy cooking,
FattyBelly

12 01 2010
Angela@spinachtiger

Well I like spicy, but I’ll be tempted to get out some crusty bread. Glad you liked it.

12 01 2010
Kayte

This looks wonderful! I am making mine for tonight and posting tomorrow. That’s the plan anyway. I had planned it for Sunday and then everyone disappeared on me with various activities, so I will be a bit late with this one. Now, tell me, aren’t we supposed to serve it on pasta? That was my plan as well…serving it over linguine or fettucine. Stop me if that is not what I am supposed to do. I am on day 2 of my focaccia for BBA (will post that on Sunday) so I plan on serving that as well. And a salad…my guys eat a lot of food, so salad helps round out the budget. Your shrimp looks stunning! I hope I do as well…and thanks for the heads up on the hot factor.

Leave a Reply

