Cooking Italy~Pot Roast braised in Red Wine

14 02 2010

This item on the Cooking Italy curriculum reminds me very much of a dish we prepared at Whisk Wednesdays, with some very minor exceptions.  Mostly more herbs and seasoning ingredients and marination time.  A chuck roast, red wine, the vegetable trinity – onions, celery and carrots – and olive oil to brown the meat.  Oh…let’s not forget the beef broth for simmering the roast either.

Although this isn’t a quick fix recipe, it doesn’t require much attention once you get it in the oven, or the back of the stove.  I put mine in the oven.   Browning the meat creates a nice fond, and a nice carmelization on the meat.  The small cut on the veggies lets them release their essences more quickly into the broth and wine mixture, which makes those flavors available to flavor the meat.  The wine and the tomato offer a bit of acid to break down the tougher tissues in the meat, and it all works in about 3 hours.

Our roast was hiding all kinds of goodies beneath it.  When it was removed, we loosened the pan drippings with the remaining beef stock (I had opened my last 16 oz. jar of beef stock for this recipe), and water, tasted for seasonings and made a pan gravy.  Seriously yummy.  We had the roast with mashed potatoes and a green salad on the side to round out our dinner.

Tasting Notes:
You’re going to love the way this makes your house smell!!  This really was good!   We didn’t get to eat the roast the night we cooked it.  We actually had to chill it down for another night.  I was pleased at how well it reheated.  I was afraid it would be dry having to wait an additional night, but there was no problem.  I couldn’t resist snagging a bite or two the first night…it was actually better the next day!!

Actions

Information

5 responses

2 03 2010
Shari

This looks wonderful. I can almost smell it! I’m sure it tasted as good as it looks!! 🙂

21 02 2010
junglefrog

It looks so incredibly tasty! I have been very absent lately from the whole Cooking Italy group, but well…. time is a tricky thing isn’t it? 🙂

15 02 2010
Kayte

I am hoping to cook this on Sunday. Alex can have no alcohol whatsoever, so I need to make it on a day when he is not eating. Your photos make it look so wonderful, and we are big pot roast fans around here, even me! Looking forward to it even more now after seeing your post!

14 02 2010
Angela@spinachtiger

We’re eating this tomorrow. I can’t wait. It looks so good, I feel like I can smell it through the screen.

14 02 2010
Arlene

I was just looking at MaryAnn Esposito’s recipe for pot roast braised in red wine. I’m salivating over your photos. This is going on next week’s menu for sure.

Leave a Reply

