Healthy Bread in 5~Sandwich Rolls

3 04 2010

Round 2 with the basic recipe from HR in 5.  The dough was a little easier to handle today.  There’s a little more flour in it from what I added yesterday as I poured it into the fridge container, and what got sprinkled on it during loaf acquisition.  I think the big thing is that now it’s cold…and timid.  I took dough from opposite corners to try to get 2 similar sized rolls for dinner size sandwiches.  That was the plan.  Again, the dough spread very wide as it rose…part of that was me attempting to slash it, part of it is that it needs more flour.   That dough was just too soft.  Got it.  The seeds on top are amaranth seeds, which are another complete protein grain, smaller even than quinoa.   I let these rise a full 90 minutes, though 60 was plenty.  I set the oven to bake for 30 minutes, but set a timer for 15 minutes to remove the parchment paper, and realized the bread was done.

As it worked out, just one of these huge crusty rolls was enough for both of us to share.  The roll sliced horizontally quite easily once cooled.   We were having them filled with pulled pork slathered with barbecue sauce, so the roll went into the toaster briefly.  The bottom of the roll was covered with 2 slices of provolone cheese and the top was left to toast ever so slightly.  Once the cheese melted, out the roll came.  The cheese was smothered in pulled pork and barbecue sauce and topped with cole slaw.

It’s ok.  You can admit you want a bite.  The two tangy tastes against each other is so good!  I’d always wondered why they put their slaw on their pulled pork in the Carolinas, and now I have an idea.  The only way I’ll really get it is to go there and try the real thing.  Some day.  Until then…I’ll have to settle.  I think I can manage….for now.  And yes…the roll held up to all the getting soggier by the minute goodness to the very end.  What a trooper!

Actions

Information

One response

6 04 2010
Kayte

Oh, this looks fantastic…your camera just captures it wonderfully well, makes me want to lift it off the page and eat it! I am the only person in the entire world who cannot get that HBin5 technique to work. Seriously. Yours looks so good.

Leave a Reply

