Cook the Books: Eating for England~

16 05 2010

Our latest read at Cook the Books was Eating for England by Nigel Slater.  Eating for England was an amusing listing of British food items, the memories they evoked in Mr. Slater, and the history they might have.  While thoroughly interesting, it ran a bit dull if one truly has no association with said items.  I found I enjoyed most reading about the items I’d run across in other books…jam roly poly for instance…treacle tart.  It’s a really good book to read if you know you’re going to be interrupted a great deal. The recitation is quite broken up, sometimes an entry is no more than a paragraph.

Next…what to cook?  Fish & chips?  A syllabub?  Should I trifle with a trifle?  Roast a joint of beef and make Yorkshire pudding?  Steam a pud?  Attempt to create a Spotted Dick?  Bangers and mash?

After careful consideration I knew it came down to something like a syllabub.  I recall discovering a reference to syllabubs in a book I read as a child.  However “fools” are very similar to syllabubs, with no alcohol.  So a food it should be!  No comments please… *Ü*

I hunted for British ingredients, and I hunted for British recipes, eventually discovering The Great British Kitchen site.  What a great site this is to accompany our book!  I selected a recipe from their collection and adapted it for 2. While there, I found a lot of recipes I’d really like to try, and took note of those.

Mango Fool

Ingredients
Serves: 4

1 Large Mango, peeled
1 Tablespoon Lemon juice
1 Egg white, whisked
150 ml Whipping cream, whipped (5 fl oz)
Method
Remove the flesh from the mango and purée three quarters of it. Chop the remainder and stir in the lemon juice. Fold together the egg white, cream and mango purée.

Put the chopped mango into the bottom of 4 glasses and spoon over the fool. Serve chilled.
This recipe works very well with canned mango pieces as well.

http://www.greatbritishkitchen.co.uk

Tasting Notes~
Oh my…my…my!  This is light and airy, and just barely sweet.  It takes it’s sweetness from the mango purée.  The egg white and the whipped cream folded together make such a light and delicate combination when they’re put together.  The addition of the fruit softens the weight from the fat, making this a real food miracle.  This feels like it will be a wonderful summer dessert.  You can bet we’ll be having this again real soon!

Actions

Information

8 responses

3 06 2010
Celiacs In The House

You managed to find the one light, airy, fluffy thing to cook from Nigel’s book. It looks lovely and I, too am a fool for mango.
Wendy

3 06 2010
girlichef

Wow, this sounds sooooo good! I love mangoes. Too much. I’ve never had a fool…ahem…

2 06 2010
Claudia

I am a fool for mangoes – my favorite fruit. And, this could only take it to the next level up – heaven! Don’t know why I haven’t tried Fools before, but that can be remedied.

2 06 2010
Simona

I think people would make space for this mango fool after any kind of meal: great choice!

2 06 2010
Rachel

Your mango fool looks so delicious. Nice post for Cook the Books!

2 06 2010
Eating for England ROUNDUP « Cook the Books Club

[…] Glennis from Cantbelieveweate made a mango fool. […]

21 05 2010
DebinHawaii

I am both a syllabub and a fool fan. (Have made syllabub a couple of times since “The Little White Horse” lol!). Your fool looks amazing. Of course I adore anything mango and it looks so pretty in the glass serving dish.

I really enjoyed the book but if I had less British food knowledge I might have been bored at time too.

18 05 2010
Foodjunkie

I agree that in some instances the book was hard to follow especially if you didn’t relate to the food described. Your “fool” looks amazing though and wuite an easy dessert to make.

Leave a Reply

