Thirty Minute Thursday: Linguini with Zucchini and Onions

7 10 2010

This week, I chose a vegetarian recipe from Giuliano Hazan’s Thirty Minute Pasta, Linguini with Zucchini and Onions.  The recipe didn’t call for much more than the title leads you to believe, and it was pretty ready in 30 minutes…the first time I made it.  This is my second time making the recipe and this time I got off somewhere and my sauce was ready before my pasta was.  I ended up needing just a bit of the pasta water to help mix the pasta properly when the time came.

I’m finding the more I cook pasta, the more I’m getting to the point of being able to look at it and know if it’s done.  What an amazing thing!!  I never thought I’d see that happen!  It doesn’t just work with spaghetti, but with linguini and fettucini too!  That’s kind of fun!

Tasting Notes~
Another score for Giuliano!  This was great as it was, and I wouldn’t hesitate to change up the summer squash to something different (which is what I did previously).    Although there’s no garlic in this particular recipe, my hand certainly was ready to add some, as well as some herbs.  But…that would totally change the recipe.  That’s one of the things I love about this book though, you can work from these base recipes, and venture to other areas of Italy by changing up the herbs and spices that you use.  Adding a bit of prosciutto or pancetta would add a totally different aspect to this dish.  Again, that would be a complete recipe change from the way this recipe is written, but it sure is a fun idea for being playful in the kitchen!

