Thirty Minute Thursday: Penne with Mushrooms and Ham~

6 01 2011

I was torn between two different recipes this week.  For a couple of days I thought I was going to do a farfalle dish.  When it came right down to it…I selected Penne with Mushrooms and Ham from Thirty Minute Pasta this week.   I just happened to have a bit of leftover ham, and a package of dried porcini mushrooms, and several ounces of freshly grown white button mushrooms from Farmer Bruce’s Christmas Mushroom Log.  You have a love a Yule Log that gives back!  Although not the most photogenic of dishes, this has the most incredible, earthy flavor!  Neither of us was particularly hungry tonight, and this piqued our appetites just enough.  This is the first time I’ve worked with porcini mushrooms.  The aroma was really intense.  It’s understandable why they’re used for risotto!  But..that’s another dish!  The sauce is thick and very full of mushroom flavor.  Mmmmm!

Kayte from Grandma’s Kitchen Table made Linguine alla Sorrentina (Linguine with Fresh Tomatoes, Basil, and Mozzarella) at her house.  Way to go Kayte!  I loved that recipe!

I’m excited that we’ll be having another friend join in occasionally too!  I’m Not a Foodie, Maria, will drop by as time allows her.  She’s got a busy schedule too.

That’s the fun of TMT…I’m not fussy about hard and fast rules.  I just want to cook as close to the right time as I can and have fun with it.  Life is too short for too much insanity!  Anyone is welcome to join in…just pick up a copy of Giuliano Hazan’s book Thirty Minute Pasta, and meet me here on Thursday!  I’d love to have you!

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 01 2011
Kayte

Maybe this one should be my next one! Looks delicious and I love, love, love mushrooms in anything. But then you probably already know that…we have been cooking together a long time! Loving this. Guys are really loving this.

7 01 2011
Maria Paray

Oh this looks so good! Love the porcini – recently posted a late Cooking Italy post for Chicken Fricassee with Porcini – fabulous taste. Glad to be joining you (and so is my family!)

Leave a Reply

