Thirty Minute Thursdays: Fusilli with sausage and cream~

4 02 2011

Whenever I’m pressed for time, this recipe comes to mind… Fusilli with sausage and cream from Giuliano Hazan’s Thirty Minute Pasta… The sausage is made by hand with few ingredients…I wouldn’t worry about having a meat grinder.  Finely chop some pork in your food processor.  If you put it in the freezer, just until it gets firm but not at all hard, it will chop beautifully.  Mix the pork with the remaining ingredients and set aside.  I know Giuliano recommends letting it sit overnight.  That’s best, but it still works out great if it gets just a short marinating time.  This is another recipe that cooks very quickly and will be finished inside the 30 minutes, easily!

Tasting Notes~
As I said, this is a great quick supper meal.  It’s soothing…the cream makes it so comforting on a cold night!  I added a few mushrooms to this particular pan…we had fresh mushrooms from a kit, and it seemed like a nice place for them!  The cream and the cheese blend nicely into a sauce that pulls in the homemade sausage, and the fusilli captures a nice bit of sauce with a few bits of sausage for a lovely, creamy, soul-satisfying bite.

Look Who’s Cooking!
It’s official!  Abby has joined us for Thirty Minute Thursdays!  Welcome to you Abby!  Your dishes have been looking marvelous!  This week, Abby made Fusilli with Sausage and Zucchini, and it looks scrumptious!

Kayte from Grandma’s Kitchen Table made Penne with four cheeses… Kayte said, “my oh my oh my is this one decadent and delicious.  Did I say it was good?  Oh yeah, and by the way, this is really good.  Great really.”  If that’s not a huge recommendation for a recipe, I don’t know what is! LOL!  Love it Kayte!

If you’d like to join us, drop me an email, and send me your URL, if you’re a blogger.  Pick up a copy of Thirty Minute Pasta, and choose a recipe!  It doesn’t matter which day is your “30 minute” day.  I collect everyone’s posts for a round-up on Thursdays.  Tuesday is my “30 minute” day.  Check the sidebar for my email, and come cook with us!

Actions

Information

2 responses

13 02 2011
Bizzy

I want to make sure, I understand. You each select your own recipe. It is not a group making the same recipe? That sounds good.

Do you have any requirements? How often do you have to participate?

It just happens that for the latter part of March and a good share of April, I will no be able to participate too often. Truthfully, I can make a few dishes ahead of time and just set them up to post each week for a while but not for the entire time.

If this is workable, I would love to join. I am going to check out the book now. It sounds like a good book to have whether I am in the group or not.

Your dish is stunning.

6 02 2011
Kayte

Your dish is a favorite here…I was thinking we made something like this with Marcella’s book as well. It is surprising how so few ingredients pack such a punch and are so satisfying, isn’t it. Looks great! Your Look Who’s Cooking Feature is really cute…thanks for posting it, fun how you organized it. And, of yes, that recipe for Four Cheese Penne is delicious! Loving this book. I have next week’s recipe all picked out and eager to get to it.

Leave a Reply

