Thirty Minute Thursday: Pappardelle ai Piselli~

3 03 2011

For Thirty Minute Thursday this week, I selected a recipe I never thought I’d try…Tagliatelle ai piselli…or Taglitelle with peas.  Peas?  As a pasta sauce?  I just couldn’t wrap my head around this one very well.  What a combination!  And I mean…What a great combination!!  I subbed pappardelle for the tagliatelle, otherwise the recipe is the same.  I also halve almost every recipe I cook.  There are just 2 of us.  That’s another thing I love about this book, Thirty Minute Pasta…the recipes are easily increased or decreased to suit your family.  Now…back to the pasta…

I had my heart set on having a roasted pork tenderloin for dinner.  No matter what I did all day, I kept ending up back at the pork tenderloin.  I even decided to make Chicken Yakitori at one point today…came home and promptly cut open the cryovac on the pork.  Decision made!  Now…what the heck to have with it?  I had settled on a bacon wrapped tenderloin recipe I found on line, which was really on the savory side.  What could I put with it?  And it’s TMT too…so I went to Thirty Minute Pasta.  After a bit of diligent perusal, I decided this recipe solved several interests for me.  1)  A recipe for TMT, 2) a side dish for the pork that would complement the savory pork, and 3) it added a vegetable to our meal.  What more could any (in)sane working woman ask for on a Thursday night??  Onions, peas, oil, and seasonings added to freshly cooked pasta…nirvana!

Tasting notes ~
I was so very pleasantly surprised!  The onions are caramelized, the peas cook just to sweet tenderness, a little seasoning magic and toss with pasta…wide, flat pasta!  This dish is incredibly sweet, but in a nice, fresh way.  The colors absolutely pop!  It’s pretty…it’s tantalizing…and it foils a savory dish that’s a bit on the salty side extremely well!  We both enjoyed this dish and agreed it was a keeper as a side dish.  I think we could both enjoy it as an entree, but it serves better as a side or as a primi course.  Who knew??

Look Who’s Cooking! ~
I’m joined this week by Chaya from Bizzy B. Bakes.  Chaya chose a vegetable-sausage-pasta soup recipe this week, and it looks hearty and filling…just the thing for a chilly late winter day!  Like me, she works…and she’s found that this cookbook is a working woman’s friend!  Quick, nutritious, and fresh pasta meals hit your table in just about 30 minutes!

Care to join in?
If you’d like to join me in cooking my way through Giuliano Hazan’s Thirty Minute Pasta, please drop me an email (the link is in the sidebar), pick up a copy of the book, and choose a recipe!  I want you to have fun, and cook what works for you at any given time.  We all have different tastes and seasons…it makes it easier for everyone.  *Ü*  I’d love to have you cook with us!

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 03 2011
Kayte

Looks great…I’ll be back soon. Friend of 25 years died this morning of breast cancer and I have been at tad distracted these past few weeks with all sorts of things…soon, I’ll get it together soon. This looks marvelous!

5 03 2011
Kaye

The pea pappardelle looks wonderful! I’m going to mark that one To Try in my book.
(The pork tenderloin looks pretty good too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

