Thirty Minute Thursday: Fusilli with a Rainbow-Colored Sauce~

22 07 2011

My selection from Giuliano Hazan’s Thirty Minute Pasta for Thirty Minute Thursday this week is Fusilli Arcobaleno…Fusilli with a rainbow-colored sauce.  I used campanelle, which look like pasta lilies, instead of fusilli.   Once again, I’m featuring ZUCCHINI…  The sauce really is rather nice…zucchini, eggplant and tomato…with a bit of bell pepper and a dash of pepper flakes and a few other surprising ingredients…tossed with the pasta.  This made a really great late-night supper for us.   When it’s hot in the summer, we often don’t stop until it gets darkish…and that can be around 8-9 pm.   It’s too hot to eat at “supper time,” but by 9-something it’s much better.  This is just what you want on one of those hot nights…sauteed fresh veggies and herbs tossed with pasta and served with a crispy cold salad on the side.   There was a nice balance of flavor, and a bit of “meatiness” from the eggplant and zucchini…just be more judicious with the red pepper flakes than I was…whoo!

Round-up:
Kayte from Grandma’s Kitchen Table chose Spaghettini alle Erbe (Spaghettini with Fresh Herbs) as her recipe this week.  Kayte is blessed to have all these herbs growing in pots at home!  She & I are both having wondrous garden results this year!  She’s GOT some heat, and we aren’t sweltering as we would usually be this time of year.  I’m not complaining.  Kayte served this recipe as a side dish.  Although she didn’t mention what she served it with, it would accompany any of the major proteins nicely!  I think Kayte has the right idea…I wonder how this would be with zucchini added in…

This is the best time of year for this cookbook.  There are so many great opportunities to use fresh vegetables and herbs during the summer months.  I love going out to the garden to “pick” dinner!

If you’d like to cook your way through Thirty Minute Pasta, you’re welcome to join us!  My email address is on the sidebar.  As long as you get me your link by Thursday, that’s all I need…and the link to your post!  I’d love to have you join along!

Actions

Information

3 responses

23 07 2015
{30 minute Thursday}Fusilli con le Zucchine Gaille e Ciliegini | Tea and Scones

[…] quite a bit. The recipe is on page 83 of Hazan’s Thirty Minute PastaCheck Kayte, Chaya, Glennis, and Peggy to see what pasta they made this […]

9 07 2015
Chaya

This is a beauty with all the colors. I bet it tastes as good as it looks.

23 07 2011
Kayte

Your choice looks wonderful! I love how you can change all these recipes up to fit the season…I am about to embark on zucchini this week as well, there are so many recipes in the book for it that I will probably stay on it for awhile! It’s fun to compare them, isn’t it? In answer to your question: I served my side dish this week with barbecued chicken and grilled peppers and a simple garden salad…it was perfect!

Leave a Reply

