I♥CC: January Potluck with Madhur Jaffrey-Cranberry, Ginger and Garlic Chutney~

13 01 2013

It’s time for a Madhur Jaffrey Potluck at I♥CC!  That means we can cook any Madhur Jaffrey recipe we choose.  That always makes for a really fun round up!  I selected a recipe, introduced a few months back by Mike of You Are Here: Cranberry, Ginger and Garlic ChutneyAdapted from Madhur Jaffrey’s “East/West Menus for Family and Friends”  Mike is right.  It’s hard to stay out of it.  I’ve made it twice…once at Thanksgiving…when I couldn’t quite talk myself into putting in the garlic….*hangs her head* and then again at New Year’s when I served it with…ham!

You start with a can of cranberry sauce… I haven’t had a can of cranberry sauce in the house for 30 years!  LOL!  So…open up a package of cranberries, pour them into a dish, rinse them off and check them for  any that might be spoiled.

MJ-JamPtlk1-cbwaI went ahead and added the spices to my cranberries as they were cooking.  I figured it would bring the spicy essences out more…mmm….!  For a bag of fresh cranberries, I usually add 1 1/2 cups water, 1 cup sugar or any sweetener you choose (honey is nice), strips of zest of 1 orange and chunks of the completely peeled orange.  Adding in a bit of vinegar plays off the citrus-acid, and all those warm spices…this makes an incredible side sauce.  Don’t worry about the garlic.  It just adds another wonderful dimension to the flavor.

Sadly… I didn’t take any END pictures.  I thought I had!  So…I’ll have to make some more…and very frankly…it’s the end of football season and this chutney would be great over a block of cream cheese…with that little cayenne…”YeeeHaaaw!” in there!  Yummm!  And look…it will be a lovely 49’er red when it’s cooked!  *Ü*



3 responses

15 01 2013

My Dad is a great lover of chutneys with his Indian food. I should make this for him.

15 01 2013
kitchen flavours

Oh, this sounds good! Cranberries are very expensive over here, so I would have to resort to the canned cranberries sauce!

14 01 2013

Sounds so good, Glennis! That’s twice now that I’ve admired this recipe. It really does sound tempting. And I just bought some cranberries too.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

