Eating with Ellie: Shrimp with Spinach, Garlic and Smoked Paprika

20 01 2015

This week’s recipe is Kayte’s choice….Shrimp with Spinach, Garlic and Smoked Paprika from Ellie Krieger’s Weeknight Wonders.  Reading the recipe, it sounded Spanish, and tapa-ish to me, so I hunted through recipes until I found a side dish to go with.  You see, this is actually a salad, and the recipe serves 4…usually.  With the addition of Greek Lemon Roasted Potatoes, the Spanish thing took a backseat, but these Mediterranean flavors blended really well.  We were decidedly pleased, and would love to find this as a restaurant offering.

DSCN3953

With only a few ingredients, this recipe goes together fast!  This is a recipe where you want to make sure you have everything together before you heat your pan.  You must prepare your mise en place….(in my best Julia Child voice)!  Especially the seasonings.  You’ll appreciate it so very much when you get rolling.  If you’re going to take pictures while you’re cooking, make sure the camera is at the ready when you finish cooking the garlic.  I almost blew it!

I made one minor change to the recipe.  Rather than using cayenne with the smoked paprika, I used a sprinkling of chipotle chili powder.  That let me continue the smoky theme, but added a tiny bit of warmth to the dish.  I elected to use a stove-top wok as my cooking vessel.  It gave me a great puddle of oil that made it easy to remove the garlic slices.

DSCN3951This recipe disappeared from our plates almost as fast as it came together.  It was seriously tasty.  The shrimp were sweet and succulent, having cooked only a few minutes.  The spinach was nice along side…just a little tiny bit of mild bitterness to foil the sweetness of the shrimp (and the potatoes were the perfect lemony tang to play along).

DSCN3957Next week, Margaret has selected Shotgun Wedding Soup as our recipe.  It looks interesting and it’s another quick fix recipe.  I can hardly wait until my copy of Weeknight Wonders arrives!  I’ve missed cooking like this…and having recipes that are good, reasonably healthy and FAST are right in line with what I can manage right now.  These recipes remind me of cooking through Giuliano Hazan’s Thirty Minute Pasta.  I still grab that cookbook frequently!

Actions

Information

8 responses

19 03 2015
teaandscones

This was good, wasn’t it? Glad you liked it. Definitely a repeat for me, too. Shrimp is always a good dish for me.

23 01 2015
teaandscones

Happy to have you with WwDH. I think you will love her recipes. This was soooo good and so quick. It didn’t last long on our plates either.

22 01 2015
Cakelaw

That was a great idea to view this as tapas and pair it with patatas bravas. I ate at a tapas restaurant last night and it was sensational.

22 01 2015
Kayte

This was such a great recipe. So healthy, easy, simple, fast, delicious…all those things we like with Ellie! This recipe works great for lettuce wraps as well. Love the potatoes you chose to go with yours…marked that recipe to try very soon as well. So good to be cooking with you again. 🙂

22 01 2015
Peggy

Oh wow…looks so good! Apparently it was since your plate is clean! Enjoyed this one and so easy!

21 01 2015
Chaya

Oops, I thought I was on our Ellie page and was joining the fun. Sorry. Please delete the inappropriate comment.

21 01 2015
Chaya

This week’s pick was a super dish. We loved the chicken in place of the shrimp and I could see serving this, weekly.

http://bizzybakesb.blogspot.com/2015/01/chicken-with-spinach-garlic-and-smoked.html

21 01 2015
Chaya

I know your main dish is delicious and I have to say those potatoes set it off beautifully. I am another one who wants to make them.

I made my dish with chicken and it turned out to be excellent. This was a good first choice.

Leave a Reply

