EwE: Pork tenderloin with fennel and grapes~

22 02 2015

 

I confess…I am a fennel fiend.  I love the anisity of it…but I don’t really care for licorice.  I know…doesn’t make sense to me either.  Regardless, I knew I’d love this dish from the start.  Fennel powder….fennel bulbs….oh my…garnish with fennel…
EwE-PorkFennelGrapes2

Step 1 – toast fennel seeds….grind fennel seeds and release that aroma….  Sprinkle the pork medallions with the fennel, salt and pepper….brown them up, then make the sauce….yes…those are fennel bulbs in the sauce….

EwE-PorkFennelGrapes1

This recipe was selected by Gaye, and is found on page 119 of Ellie Krieger’s Weeknight Wonders.  The recipe can also be found online here.  You can see what my cooking-mates did with their dishes at Eating with Ellie.

EwE-PorkFennelGrapes3

This was a GREAT recipe…and if it had been any meat other than pork, maybe it would have been wonderful.  Maybe it was my choice to use Pork NY Steaks (I swear that’s how they were packaged!)…  Other than that, this was absolutely great!  There was just the right amount of sweet-tart going on…the fennel melted into gloriously buttery bites of numminess… The whole dish was cloaked with the delicate aroma of fennel…  I confess, no.  The fennel didn’t come with those lovely fronds…those are from my garden.  My Florence fennel is lushly gorgeous out there!  I’ll be fixing this dish again…with chicken the first time, and tenderloin after that.  There’s a lot of fennel out there!

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 03 2015
teaandscones

Looks quite tasty. I guess I will have to try it eventually. B is not a fruit/meat eater. But what does he know…..

27 02 2015
Chaya

Your plate is a beauty. That was the first time we had fennel.

23 02 2015
Kayte

Looks great from where I am sitting. Lucky you to have all that fennel, we like it as well, especially me, but Mark is growing in appreciation. I had never heard of fennel powder until I saw Giada using it on her show, and now this same week you mention it…reasons enough for me to find some and give it a go here. I love learning new things from blog buddies! 🙂

Leave a Reply

