Cook The Books: Heartburn-4 Minute Eggs~

18 11 2012

Cook the Books has dedicated the past 2 months to reading Nora Ephron’s Heartburn.   While Ms. Ephron had a number of immensely successful book-movie deals, Heartburndoesn’t strike me as a book which will make that leap.  Although, it might make a campy heartbreak romantic comedy… Nah.  It’s amusing, in a dismal sort of way…heavily dramatic.  The best part of the book for me were the recipes…although I didn’t have the greatest of luck with the 3 minute-4 minute egg.  I kept getting a 5 minute egg.  *Ü* Without regard to that…here’s my journey…

We have chickens.  This was today’s harvest and they don’t come much fresher than this.  I actually had to move one hen to get to the eggs.  She’s pretty tame, but didn’t much care for my raiding her nest.   I’m not letting anyone else get the idea they can sit on a nest…as it is we have one baby chick out there with its Mama!  I selected 4 large (actually X-Large is more the correct size.  These strain the top of a Large egg carton.

The next step is to put the eggs into a pan of cold water…check…and bring to a boil.  Cover, turn off the heat, and wait 3 minutes.  After 3 minutes, remove from the hot water, open and serve.

I recommend working with tongs AND a folded towel to open and scoop your eggs.  Some day I’m going to own an egg opener.   I often wonder how we did this when I was a kid?  I don’t remember the cute egg cups…but I do remember eating soft cooked eggs.  Oh well.  I’ll keep at this until I get it right.  This is one of my hubby’s favorite “comfort” foods.

The next book on our reading schedule is The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins.  We’ll also be teaming up with Food ‘n Flix and doing a two-for-one by also watching The Hunger Games.   Don’t be shy…put on your apron and join in the fun!


Actions

Information

6 responses

9 12 2012
Deb in Hawaii

Those are some big gorgeous eggs and wonderful to . 😉 The recipes were my favorite part of the book too!

8 12 2012
Ana

How wonderful to have your own chickens.. I remember how much fun it was to gather freshly laid eggs at my grandfather’s farm. I still remember some of the chickens. One of them was especially sweet… can’t forget her! As for “Heartburn,” I enjoyed the book much more than the movie. You’re right, it didn’t make the leap, even though Meryl Streep and Jack Nicholson were in it.

6 12 2012
Tina

One of my favorites when I was a kid. Well, still love eggs this way but when myom fixed them for me – perfect!

4 12 2012
Jayne

I dream of a day when I can get eggs so large and fresh on my doorsteps.

28 11 2012
lawstudentcook

Those eggs look great!

I’m also inviting you to join my new monthly party, Pantry Party if you’re interested 🙂 http://lawstudentscookbook.wordpress.com/2012/11/27/introducing-pantry-party/

20 11 2012
Simona

Wow, those eggs are big! Your story reminded me that when I was a kid I would sometimes have to raid nests to get me an egg and I didn’t like it very much: I was afraid of the hen, though I really wanted the fresh egg. I love soft boiled eggs too. The book is certainly bittersweet. It is funny and then one remembers that the story behind it is true. Thank you so much for your contribution to this edition of Cook the Books.

Leave a comment