Thirty Minute Thursday: Spaghetti with Mascarpone and Prosciutto~

4 11 2010

It’s been a busy week, so far this week!  I wasn’t quite sure what I was going to fix from Thirty Minute Pasta this time, but that’s one of the great things about this book…you just about always have everything you need for at least one recipe…and you can embellish!  Yes… I embellished!  LOL!  It looked so pale!  I had tapped the prosciutto for something else…and didn’t leave myself quite enough for this dish.  There’s plenty for the flavor, but not for the appearance.  I also used a different long pasta.  I used a capellini, or angel hair, instead of “spaghetti”.  I keep forgetting that makes for too much pasta surface for dishes like this.  I’ll get it…sooner or later.  I par-boiled the broccoli just until it was almost tender-crisp in the pasta water before the pasta went in.  I knew

This dish is simplicity in itself.  A few ounces of mascarpone, a bit of prosciutto, freshly grated Parmesan, an egg yolk mixed with a bit of the pasta water…tossed with the cooked pasta.  The mascarpone has a very neutral flavor, yet rich texture, which makes it an excellent base for this creamy cheese sauce. ..not as flavorful as an Alfredo sauce, but even richer and laced with prosciutto…and, in my case, dotted with little green trees…  *Ü*

Tasting Notes~
I’m reserving final judgment until I’ve had a chance to try this again with spaghetti pasta.  I want to see if there’s a difference.  The flavor was fine…  I know I’ve made this recipe before…there’s an element about the technique that’s utterly memorable.   And I believe I used the angel hair that time too.  We both like the lighter angel hair…  But…I gotta tell ya…I’m understanding why the different weights are so necessary!  Angel hair needs an oily sauce so it can’t take up more moisture and is sealed so it doesn’t lose moisture.  See?  The girl can be taught!  This tasted just fine…but I’d like to try it again with the other pasta before I make a final statement.