I♥CC-MJ-Food to Warm You Up-Tamarind Fish~

22 12 2012

100WeeknightCurriesThe theme of the week in the land of IHCC is “Food to warm you…”   That could be interpreted a couple of ways, and both were acknowledged in our invitation.  Hmmm….heart warming, soul warming, or spicy-warming?  I went with easy and spicy this week.  I really wanted to do something that cooked low and slow, but that’s difficult to do when you aren’t here.  Quick, spicy-warm and…oh my.  I found fresh fish.  It’s time to do any of the recipes that use fish!!  My recipe selection, Tamarind Fish is found on page 103 of Madhur Jaffrey’s book, 100 Weeknight Curries.

MJ-TamarindFish-cbwa1The fish, cod is recommended, however I used Rockfish -wild caught.  The fillets are rubbed with turmeric and salt and left for a few minutes before cooking over medium heat until golden.  Remove from the pan and set aside.

MJ-TamarindFish-cbwa2Prepare the Tamarind sauce and let it cook down to a thick syrupy consistency.  You’ll start to see the bottom of the pan as it gets really thick.

MJ-TamarindFish-cbwa3Add the fish fillets back to the pan with the sauce, heating briefly, turning once, then basting with the tamarind sauce as the fish finishes.  Plate and serve.

MJ-TamarindFish-cbwa4This is pretty tasty.  My hubby commented on the sweet-sour play in the sauce.  A bright yellow rice would have been pretty with this.  We were deep into the week by the time I got to cook… I know.   Any other time I’d mumble about always deciding what’s eaten here…but not this week.  Birthday dinner out on Monday, Tuesday MAJOR grocery shopping, Wednesday-dinner with friends, Thursday-Cook’s Choice!  Whew!!  We decided an artichoke was going to be plenty with the fish.  I found myself thinking of “corrections” I’d make.  I should cut the cayenne just a little bit.  For once Bruce was okay with the heat, but it was a bit more than I was comfortable with.  Hmmm.

Come on back next week… The theme is “Red and Green.”  Interesting…!

Oh… To my grammatically correct friends…I know.  *Ü*

Actions

Information

3 responses

26 12 2012
Kim

I’ve been looking for tamarind all over the place. I’ve never tried it, but desperately want to. I think it looks like a lovely sauce for the fish.

24 12 2012
Michelle

Love the color of the sauce!

23 12 2012
Kaye

Hmm, that does look good! I love the flavor of tamarind!

Leave a Reply

