TFF~Chicken Fajitas

2 07 2009

I really didn’ t expect to be able to do a post this week.  We’ve been nursing our refrigerator for a couple of weeks, and the situation was getting no better. Exit one; enter the next. Seamlessly. Except for the food that got thawed while the freezer wasn’t doing so well. With all the odds and ends that thawed (can’t these things happen in January or February when it’s COLD?) we haven’t had a lot of choice about what’s for dinner. This time…things worked out perfectly.

I was surfing the web earlier that evening, and noticed that Tyler’s web blog has a section of clickable menu items with recipes!  This is the coolest place! So many of the recipes we know and love and share are right there at the click of a mouse! It saved me a bunch of hunting, later, when I realized that we had chicken breasts that needed to be cooked PRONTO!! I had seen Tyler’s recipe for Fajitas earlier while I was looking at the recipes available on his site.  I though quickly about all the odds and ends…onions-yep, peppers-yep, chiles-yep…now what about the marinade…off to visit our man, Tyler!   Even in the midst of all the weirdness of changing out a refrigerator, we had everything we needed to make the marinade (ok, it helps that we have citrus trees in our backyard).

TFF-Fajitas

I apologize that you’re getting the tail end of the dinner… I was on a roll and didn’t even think about pictures until we’d finished eating.  The fajitas were superb!  I toasted the cumin seeds in a small skillet, with some peppercorns until they were fragrant, then ground them by hand. Mmmm!  I love that aroma!  I cooked the marinated strips of chicken separate from the veggies, but basted the veggies with the remaining marinade as they were cooking. The sugars in the fruit juices helped carmelize the peppers and onions.  All were tossed together at the end.  One word of warning though…the chipotles go with the beef… I threw them in with the chicken breast before I realized they were for the beef.  Not that that was a bad thing…it just made them a tad spicy!  I think a good tablespoon of adobo wouldbe fabulous with the chicken though! That smokiness….MmmM!  We dressed our tortillas with lettuce, tomato cheese and crema. What a meal!  Thanks again Tyler!


Actions

Information

7 responses

5 07 2009
Joanne

I noticed this on Tyler’s website as well and got really excited! It makes life so much easier. I’ve heard good things about these fajitas and am excited to make them sometime in the near future.

3 07 2009
Jenny

Great that things worked out so well for you.

3 07 2009
Kim

Sounds terrific. I CRAVE chicken fajitas on a regular basis. When I’m hungry for them look out. They sounds great. I’m jealous that you have citrus trees in your backyard…

3 07 2009
Arlene

Just received my 2 cup mortar and pestle, or I’d be lusting after yours. The fajitas sound good.

3 07 2009
Natashya

So glad you found a treasure trove of recipes! I love your mortar and pestle. (I have a collection of about 6 of them..)

3 07 2009
DebinHawaii

I love fajitas and Tyler’s sound great. His blog does a really nice job with the recipes–and photos too. I vowed that I should never look at it when hungry!

3 07 2009
Hornedfroggy

I *love* chicken fajitas – I bet they were delicious! 🙂

Leave a comment