Berrylicious entry…

11 06 2008

One of the things I love about food blog events is the challenge to think outside the box.  I tend to cook by what I feel and “taste” in my head anyway, so this is a wonderfully relaxing hobby!  And so…I was reading a list of food blog events, and ran across “Berrylicious,” sponsored by Nutriferia, and thought about what was in the refrigerator that could star in the event…this is what came out:
3 Berry Sauce on smoked pork loin chops

I’ve been doing a lot of things with pork, which has been reasonably priced.  I picked up 10# of boneless pork loin at $1.67 per pound.  When gas is $4.50 per gallon, saving grocery money is a necessity! *Ü*  I knew I had a small (1-1/2 lb.) piece of pork loin remaining, so I cut it into chops, seasoned the meat with ground pepper, salt and brown sugar, then tenderized the meat and left it to marinate for 45 minutes.  I prepared my smoker pan with 2 tsp. alder smoking shavings and smoked the pork over medium-low heat for 30 minutes, then left the pan while the smoke dissipated.  Meanwhile, I mixed 1/3 cup white sugar, 1Tbsp. balsamic vinegar and 1/3 cup of water in a heavy saucepan.  I emptied half a bag of frozen mixed berries into the hot sugar water (sugar had dissolved), brought it all to a boil and turned off the heat.  I then added a pinch of orange zest to the berry sauce.  We served the sauce spooned over the hot, smoked pork chops.  Hubster gave it the nod as the “best pork chops ever!”  We both found the berries a wonderful substitute for apples, which also combine well with pork.  Since there was about 1/2 cup of sauce remaining….we’re going to spoon it over ice cream and pound cake for dessert later.  Wish you were here! *Ü*

Actions

Information

One response

11 06 2008
Linda

I do wish I was there 🙂 I’m sure the sauce was awesome over both meat and dessert and how great that you love to play around in your kitchen. Thanks for participating and see you at the roundup.

Leave a Reply

