Food-n-Flix: Now Showing…The Help~

28 07 2012

It’s the dog days of summer here in the Northern Hemisphere…what better time to share a movie celebrating all Southern belles than…August!  While it isn’t exactly a romance, there is romance…and there is some eye candy appeal…  I admit I was rather taken with all the culinary opportunities both the book and the movie had to offer.  So beg, borrow, rent or buy a copy of  The Help.  Then, c’mon back to visit!  It’s surely my pleasure to have you all in for tea!

How to participate in Food ‘n Flix:

1. Watch the chosen film (The Help).  Taking inspiration from the film, head into the kitchen and cook or bake or make something.

2. Post about it on your blog with a link back to THIS post and a link to Food ‘n Flix.  Use of the logo is optional.

3. You must post must be current (during month of film). And of course we don’t mind if your post is linked to other events…the more the merrier.

4. Have fun with it!

5. Email your entries to me at: cantbelieveweate (at) gmail (dot) com and include:

~Your name
~Your blog’s name
~The name of your dish and the permalink to the specific post you’re submitting
~Attach a photo of any size (or just give me permission to “pull” one from your post)
~Indicate “Food ‘n Flix Submission” in the subject line

Deadline for submission is: Thursday, August 30th (11:59 pm Pacific).

*Note regarding Round Up… My granddaughter will celebrate her 21st on the 31st, so please don’t look for the Round Up until September 1st!

Actions

Information

10 responses

29 08 2012
Pineapple Upside Down Sponge Cake (Bizcocho de Piña) | Malice in Dunderland

[…] movie of the month at Food ‘N Flix is The Help, hosted at Can’t Believe We Ate. The movie centers around a woman named Eugenia, who writes a newspaper column for housewives, […]

29 08 2012
Food ‘n Flix post: The Help « Eliot's Eats

[…] to Glennis at Can’t Believe We Ate for hosting this […]

25 08 2012
Cook the Books and Food ‘n’ Flix: Home Cooking either way~ « Cantbelieveweate's Weblog

[…] so now it’s time to give The Help a chance in the spotlight!  I’m the hostess at Food ‘n’ Flix this month, and I chose this movie.  Next month we’ll be watching a different […]

11 08 2012
Chicken and Dumplings | lawstudentscookbook

[…] month at Food ‘n Flix we watched The Help hosted by Glennis at Can’t Believe We Ate. This is actually one of my favorite movies (and books) of all times. I typically don’t enjoy […]

5 08 2012
Debra Elliott

Glad I found this great party!

5 08 2012
Can't Believe We Ate...

Me too! I hope you’ll stay and have some “tea” with us!

1 08 2012
Cucina49

Hopefully I will be submitting my first recipe to this group this month–looking forward to taking part in it!

1 08 2012
girlichef

I thought they did a pretty good job with the movie (but of course I liked the book better)…I look forward to watching it again and heading into the kitchen. Thanks so much for hosting this month, Glennis! 🙂

29 07 2012
Kayte

I tried to watch the movie, I really did. My ears do not do “Southern” well and I had a heck of a time trying to figure out what they were saying so I abandoned it all a third of the way through. Maybe I should give it another try.

30 07 2012
Can't Believe We Ate...

This might be one of those times when reading the book first is appropriate! I didn’t expect much from the movie…it was put together better than I thought they’d manage.

Leave a Reply

