WW~Rum Savarin

17 06 2009

The final element of Menu 2 is a Rum Savarin.  Pardon me, what?  A Rum Savarin…  It’s a yeast-cake that’s soaked with a vanilla rum syrup then glazed with apricot glaze,  served with sliced strawberries, kiwi and Chantilly Cream.  This one is a bit time consuming.  I’m glad I didn’t try to get it to work in just an hour or so.  It needed time…time to rise, time to beat in the sugar, salt and butter, time to rise again, baking time, cooling time, soaking time…quite a bit of time.

sav-freshfrmoven

I rather expected a close textured yeast cake.  This was stronger than I anticipated, but it was eggy, like popovers.  In fact, the savarin was quite comparable to popovers, especially looking at the outside.  I used a 6 cup super muffin-bundt pan and the bread mushroomed way over the tops because it was so light.  I had to cut the bottoms off level so the cakes could be plated.  I’ll use the pieces we cut off as a kind of trifle with sliced fruit.  The Savarin itself is made a couple of different ways.  Our book had us creating the dough with out fingers until it cleaned the bowl, then gathering it and throwing it back into the bowl…  I checked a few recipes and ran across one that suggested it benefitted from a healthy amount of beating with a dough hook.  I used my food processor…I don’t recommend that.  There was a little too much batter-dough and it got places it shouldn’t have.  Next time we don’t beat it quite as long and hard, and we use the mixer.  For a larger group, the batter-dough would do well in a bundt pan.

I was really pleased with the vanilla rum syrup.  I added the rum while the sugar and water were boiling so some of the intensity of the rum would mellow.  I added the vanilla after I turned the heat off.  I literally basted the inside of the cake after it was cut with the syrup.  And there was one other minor (oops) difference…I grabbed a jar of plum jam rather than apricot from my pantry.  That’s what I get for not labeling my jars!  Not that that was a bad thing…it was just different.  Rather than kirsch, I used Pama.  I had Pama.  I didn’t have kirsch.  Besides…I don’t much care for the taste of kirsch.

Savarin-1

The Chantilly Cream was perfectly simple. I’m getting pretty good at knowing about how much cream to pour out for the two of us.  I’m getting to the point of being able to have fresh whipped cream in under 5 minutes from thought to plate.  This is so easy.  And so tasty.  Yes, it’s like Strawberry Shortcake…but so yummy!  I’d do this again…

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 06 2009
girlichef

In one word- WOWZA!

18 06 2009
Arlene

Brilliant! The vanilla rum syrup must have really been delicious.

Leave a Reply

